More convinced than ever

Discussion in 'Rants, Musings and Ideas' started by Athnys, Sep 29, 2011.

1. Athnys

Athnys Well-Known Member

Over the past week I've had a strong feeling of dread concerning my future; that I would complete my accounting certification and yet never be worth hiring, and I would remain as I am now: useless and unemployable.

Last semester my average in my first accounting class was over 100, counting bonus points on exams. To me, anything less than an A is a failing grade, but that was not enough for me then, and I anticipated getting a B in a future test just because I figured I wasn't good enough.

Well, last week I had the first exam of my second accounting class, and I got the result in tonight: a C. Now, a B would have been devastating enough, but a C is downright unacceptable. I only missed a few questions, but it was enough to reduce my grade to a C. This test counted for 25% of the semester grade. I studied every day for the week before the test and I thought I understood the material enough, but I still got a C. I almost broke my pen when I saw the grade, and I felt like getting up and leaving at that moment and withdrawing from all of my classes and from the college.

The teacher was kind enough to give all of us a bonus on the grade; it would only be a few points, but in some cases enough to improve the test grade by one letter grade. It brought my grade up to a B, but to me it still didn't matter. I deserved a C and I should have got a C. I feel like I should have got an F.