Discussion in 'Mental Health Disorders' started by raincloud, Nov 10, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. raincloud

raincloud Well-Known Member

So, I've posted elsewhere that I'm getting evicted. My landlord is being REALLY strange about it, so I'm not 100% sure when I'm getting evicted and I just want to get out. I called to ask him what his plans were as far as calling the sheriff's office, etc, and he won't return my calls! Then he shows up at my door at random and I don't want him to come in. It's awkward.

I have been really poor for years, and I have finally used up all of my last resources. I'd have been evicted a couple of years ago if I hadn't gotten into graduate school and been able to use some of my loans and collect unemployment.

Unemployment is out and I graduated, and I had a (ridiculously low-wage) job. I had a complete breakdown due to the nature of my job and the fact that I was still really poor even while employed. It really sucks to work full time and not be able to buy food or pay for utilities. Especially when the job would cause a lot of anxiety anyway. I can work certain kinds of jobs just fine -- I just can't seem to get those kinds of jobs very often, and when I do I get laid off!

Despite my situation, I do not regret quitting my job, mostly because I definitely would have been fired. Even this stress is better than working there. It made me crazy.

Unfortunately, my options are limited. I've been hiding my situation for months, but I finally talked to a friend of my (late) mother's and she offered to let me stay with her. In Texas. Near the most abusive member of my family. I don't think I have any other choice but to go.

I don't know how I can live there. I'll be afraid to go out in fear of running into certain people. It's nice to be 2500 miles away.

Also, I'm humiliated. If it were to get out what a huge failure I've become, I will not be able to handle it.