My arm is disgusting

Discussion in 'Self Harm & Substance Abuse' started by Ruby, Feb 26, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ruby

Ruby Well-Known Member

.. full of cuts, burns and scars. I don't bother putting anything on it to try and minimize it so I don't know why i'm complaining, it's just.. I can't seem to stop self harming. I don't really want to stop. I've been doing it for 4 years and it seems to have progressed in the sense that I have to CUT rather than scratch. I used to scratch myself with broken glass and scissors but it's now at the stage where I have to slash my arms open with knives and blades and I can't stop, or get the same effect, unless I go deep. I also burn my arms with cigarettes and hair straighteners. In moments of desperation I also bash my head against a wall and punch things.

Anyway, I guess i'm just wondering if anyone else self harms, and likes it, but whose arm is becoming more and more scarred as a result.

2. austinhp78

austinhp78 Well-Known Member

i'm with you here on this one. the only difference i guess is that my scars are on my legs and i started out with small cuts as opposed to scratches.
    but anyways, i think that when you cut, such as with numerous drugs, you build up a tolerance. i started out my just doing one or two little cuts at a time, three at the most, to where i am now to around 20 decent ones at a time.
    its weird how it works. i find that the first one is the worst but ever after that first cut it get progressively easier. i find that once i've started i can go on for a long time without really realizinghow much i've done.

3. Spearmint

Spearmint Well-Known Member

I'm the same way, Ruby..:dunno:

4. taranama

taranama Well-Known Member