my husband says i can be cured

Discussion in 'Family, Friends and Relationships' started by UsedToBe, Jun 17, 2011.

1. UsedToBe

UsedToBe Well-Known Member

I'm bisexual, just recently came out to my husband, after 10 years of marriage. Basically I just wanted to make it clear as I grew tired of his homophobic remarks behind the backs of some of my friends.
    Now he's saying that he feels sorry for me that I got unwell (he thinks everyone who's not heterosexual is sick), and that he is going to cure me by hahving sex with him. I said this is not an illness and that I have always been bi, and even if there was cure I wouldn't want one.
    He said that me admitting to be bi means that I've been lying to him for ten years. For me it means the end of this marriage unless he stops saying I'm ill and can be cured.
    Feeling so upset, angry and disappointed now...
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 17, 2011
  2. lightbeam

lightbeam Antiquities Friend

being bi is *not* something to be cured. Your hubby is wrong about that. Don't let him get to you.

3. aoeu

aoeu Well-Known Member

Even if he stops saying it, he'll still be bigoted towards part of who you are... And he doesn't seem to feel any empathy at all if he considers it lying rather than understanding why you wouldn't bring it up.

I think this might be an end...
  4. me myself and i

me myself and i Account Closed

This is so sad, i hoped that the world by now, had more advanced thoughts on this subject.
    He probably knows bi or gay people as friends, that hold the secret, he just doesn't know.
    Remember you have nothing to change.................but he certainly does.
    I would suggest that he researches various sexualities to gain a better understanding, but something tells me that would only make him angry.
    Remember though, his masculine pride has took a massive hit, so being a typical bloke, is answer is lashing out and the immature thoughts of "straightening you out"