My Introduction :)

Discussion in 'Welcome' started by Bibliophile, Dec 20, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bibliophile

Bibliophile New Member

Hello. My name is Bibliophile - you can also call me Athena, whichever you would like. I'm a 26 year old student who's getting a degree in Linguistics and Psychology but is now mostly just preparing to apply to medical school with all the requisite courses. I'm here because after a long history of abuse with my parents and brother, I've developed what was initially called depression, but lately has been called PTSD. I've struggled with suicidal thoughts since I was 13, and because of the nature of the abuse, it can be hard for me to find friends to talk to when I need someone to talk to. Or sometimes I feel like I can't talk to people at all. But I think coming here - well, my first experiences were in the chat room last night - and I think coming here could be really beneficial to me, like it has been for a lot of people. I'm just in a deep, dark hole right now, and I want to get out. I want to go back to my life, and if possible I don't want to find myself here again.

At any rate, I look forward to meeting all of you. :)

2. total eclipse

total eclipse SF Friend Staff Alumni

Hi Athena i am glad you are here i find it easier to talk to people online so i hope you can too hugs

3. demuredawn

demuredawn Well-Known Member