My Job: It may be the reason I haven't killed myself yet...

Status
Not open for further replies.
So here I am -- 42 and still of flesh and blood -- yay... I've known now for 22 years that the best thing for everybody (and it's not all that many people, believe me...) is for me to be gone. But in the meantime, I have to work for a living. I know, I know -- I should be lucky to have a full-time job in this economy, and you're right. But for the most part in those past 22 years, that's all I've really had of any importance or significance -- save a friend here and there, but eventually I manage to burn bridges. Anyway, since a job is all I've really had, my investment into it was way out of proportion with other areas of my life that were empty. I really placed too much importance and self-pressure with my jobs.

When I was younger, I really went all out. I wanted to feel in control of my workspace, and if anybody didn't comply, my temper would flare up quicker than an A-bomb. Later on, I mellowed out, realizing yelling and complaining didn't get me anywhere. Still, however, my validity in this world depended on my job.

I noticed this yesterday very clearly. I was sort of in charge of my workplace in the absence of my superior. Needless to say, there's a lot of reports, counts, scans, customer assistance and checking involved with working for the Postal Service. I have to say that I handled it pretty well, but that's nothing new. I know when it gets busy or harried or stressful (up to a point) that even though I might groan slightly or roll my eyes that I really take it all in stride -- immersing myself in the idea of staying visibly busy and coming through in the clutch -- straying away from the fact that I had absolutely nothing to do this Labor Day weekend. Even on days where I'll start out depressed, eventually I know I'll have no choice but to be civil, if not friendly with the customers and professional with my co-workers.