My life is over

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by Me1986, Mar 28, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Me1986

Me1986 New Member

I'm a 28 y o teacher who only wanted to teach for rest of his life. I got word that my contract is not being renewed for next year and to top it all off I just got questioned by admin about sexual comment that I supposedly made to a student. No school will want to hire me now probably and I want to die there is nothing for me anymore teaching is my life please help I don't think I can live anymore

2. NYJmpMaster

NYJmpMaster Have a question? Message Me Staff Member Forum Owner ADMIN

Teaching contracts for teachers without tenure and years of seniority do not get renewed all the time. It is just part of th eprocess in todays world of too small budgets and school budgets voted down by constituents. Unless there was a police file that inquiry is a cover your ass inquiry - if somebody makes a statement or accusation they have to do an inquiry - just make sure you have your union rep or counsel anytime you speak to them. Unless they press charges which if it is them talking to you and not the police then that will not follow you anywhere and if they have already said not renewing contract it can't have any more negative effect there. You are a teacher with some experience which gives you a leg up in the next round of interviews where you can be a teacher still/again if that is what you choose until you are fortunate enough to land a job in a stable district that does not cut 20% of its staff every year to pass the budget then hire them back exceeding the budget due to state and federal mandates throughout the year. Understand you are part of a situation that many younger teachers find themselves in and don't let depression make you believe that it is you that is not good enough.

Take Care and Be Safe

- Ben

3. Unknown_111

Unknown_111 Forum Buddy Staff Alumni SF Supporter