My story

Discussion in 'Rants, Musings and Ideas' started by pete, Jan 8, 2011.

1. pete

pete New Member

Hello everyone,

I'm new here. So let me just start of with a rant and tell my story.

I'm 24 year old guy. I graduated from college two years ago. And i found out that its a bad, bad world out there. 2008 was quite a mixed year for me. I fell in love. I got my first job. But then things started to turn bad. Me and my girlfriend had to break up mutually due to some unavoidable reasons. And then the damn recession happened and i got laid off. And i'm struggling since then to get my life and career back on track. I lost my interest in working after that. So i decided to get a masters degree. I worked for a year over the entrance exams and got admitted to a few good universities. But as it always happens with me something had to got wrong and it didn't work out too.

So here i am now. Its been 2 years since i left my job, hoping to find another one soon. Still living on my parents money. And its quite embarrassing and i absolutely hate it. I have always been an optimist. I always believed that i will have a good career and a successful life. But seeing the way things have gone for me over the last couple of years, my hopes are starting to dwindle.

And to compound my problems i'm still in love. I'm still in touch with my ex. She's married now for more then a year. We talk very regularly. I cannot even think of not being in touch with her. And i can certainly say that she still loves me. But there's nothing we both can do about the situation.

So, i'm constantly tormented with the thoughts about the failures i have encountered so far. My job, my career, the girl i'm in love with. There's absolutely no peace of mind. There are days when i'm very much depressed.
    My parents are telling me to join the family business. I cannot do that. I had dreams for myself. I'm sure i'll live my entire life in regret if i do that.