Need a career change..

Discussion in 'Rants, Musings and Ideas' started by lachrymose27, Jan 31, 2011.

1. lachrymose27

lachrymose27 Well-Known Member

i don't even know if I should say career.. i rarely hold onto jobs for more than a year.. i always quit too early.. Really disappointed with life right now. I want to do a game testing job but there just aren't any around me. I'm thinking I'll try to get into video game journalism but I'm afraid i don't have the proper degree or knowledge for that... even then, its hard to find work like that here.. really sad with life now.. can't stand working my current 9-5. its no life at all. sad. sad don't know what to do anymore.

2. Kaos General

Kaos General Well-Known Member

What do you do at the moment? Im a qualified electrician and live in the uk and even i cant find work so if i was you i wouldnt quit your job, your in a good position, your employed

3. peacelovingguy

peacelovingguy Well-Known Member

Don't know much about gaming but I guess a lot of the basic coding will go the way of cartoons and be done overseas. Game testing would likely entail being familiar with the various codes used for games. not a code I've ever looked at really.

The way forward will be with the various apps for smartphones - games included. I mean, there are different platforms, but Android and Apple are just two platforms that, if studied, might enable you to ditch the 9 - 5 'crappy' jobs.

Even with coders overseas the opportunities for developers in the apps department is really good. Not only do you get to own the rights to anything you create, but you earn a big slab of the actual profits if you compare yourself to, say, someone who invented some kind of useful tool.

If you do not have any special degree then study for one. Even better just study the codes yourself and find out which is best for the emerging market of apps and games for mobile devices.