Need help regarding involuntary hold

Discussion in 'Help Me! I Need to Talk to Someone.' started by angell, Mar 3, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. angell

angell Member

I just beat a 72 hour involuntary hold in a psych ward but I'm about to face it again. I don't think I can win this time. They want me in for 'observation' due to major depressive disorder and are trying to upgrade it to psychotic depression. Anyway, I can't go. I need a way out. I'm a combat veteran who was held in a cage for nine months as an enemy of the state. I have a thing about being locked up against my will.

Voluntary is out for two reasons: First, once there they can always extend it involuntarily. Second, there is a family crisis at the moment and I cannot be spared. It is a life or death situation concerning my wife of thirty years. I will not leave her.

Suggestions please?
  2. NYJmpMaster

NYJmpMaster Have a question? Message Me Staff Member Forum Owner ADMIN

I guess I am confused because if you are faced with a 72 hour involuntary hold how are you out writing this? If they are trying to get a hold on you how did you get out of hospital or custody to begin with? Since the criteria is for imminent harm to self or others the mere fact you are not in custody, have not killed self , and presumably not harmed others is more than adequate to show that premise id false so I do not understand the circumstance where you know in advance they are going to try to do this that it is not already done... Without understanding that situation I am unsure what advice to give you on avoiding a situation that is not yet in place except to avoid doing something that would make the danger to self or others obvious (like a suicide attempt) ....
  3. angell

angell Member