New and suicidal

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by Svava, Mar 17, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Svava

Svava New Member

This is my first post. I never knew this place existed until today.

I have been severely suicidal for two years now. I had three traumatic experiences happen within 6 months of each other, the main one being a doctor who performed surgery on me that I did not consent to, and which left me in physical pain, and also really traumatized me psychologically.

I have dealt with depression on and off for over 14 years, but I was able to cope. I graduated from college, went to graduate school, and law school. I had a job and was doing okay. I never felt suicidal, actually, just down. Meds helped me, but now they do not.

I have attempted suicide in the last two years, but was stupid about the way that I went about it. I really did want to die, and I feel horrible that I survived, mainly because I wasn't doing it for attention.

I have pretty much lost everything in my life: my family, my friends, my love, my job, my interest in anything. I hate feeling this way.

I have tried CBT, general therapy, pretty much every medication out there, but nothing works. I have lost hope.

I used to be happy and hopeful. I wanted to contribute to this world in a positive way. I just wanted a "normal" life. Now I just want to die. :depressed

Anyway, if you've gotten this far, thanks for reading.
  2. lifeisashedog

lifeisashedog Well-Known Member

Welcome, Svava:welcome:
  3. falling_away

falling_away Member

Welcome to the forum. I know how you feel. I have been depressed for many years now and I'm not sure what the answer to it is. Anyways, I hope you stick around for a while. :biggrin:
  4. theleastofthese

theleastofthese SF Friend Staff Alumni