New guy here

Discussion in 'Welcome' started by Marvin24, Feb 8, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Marvin24

Marvin24 Member

Where to start? I'm a transgender ex-mormon in a small, conservative, mormon-dominated town in AZ. I'm a disappointment to my parents (my Dad recently told me I have nothing in my life to be proud of since my two jobs to date lasted a total of 14 mos and I still haven't a degree). I'm an unemployed student owing $700 in rent and an equal amount on a credit card. I'm an introvert with substantial stage-fright, bipolar disorder, and characteristics of the former Asperger's Syndrome (ie, inability to look people in the eye, recognize sarcasm, or read less-obvious body language). About every three weeks I become extremely despondent and paranoid of going out in public. Occasionally at night when it's very quiet I hear random (nonaggressive) voices in my head, muffled like hearing a TV or radio through the wall; mostly gibberish but a phrase here and there comes through clearly.

But I have a good side too. I love writing, though I rarely finish any of my stories, and I've probably read hundreds of thousands of books in my 23 years. My two cats and my boyfriend/friend-with-benefits keep me grounded and mostly sane. When I get an idea in my head I can be incredibly enthusiastic and persistent; for example, I'm starting a Gay-Straight Alliance at my college so future GLBTQ+ students can have a safe space. I got my first ever A+ and B+ on chemistry exams (I took chem twice in high school and both times I finished with D's).

Ridiculously long intro; congrats if you've made it this far without falling asleep. But I've been having a very suicidal week and I just need to know there are others out there that have gone through similar crap to mine and come out ahead. Just an hour ago I was testing <edit mod total eclipse method> The biggest things keeping me from offing myself right now: