New here, really not comfortable about it either.

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by Chester76, Jun 25, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chester76

Chester76 New Member

I just signed on to this site, first time coming to a site like this. I promised I would utilize every avenue before making any kind of irreversible decisions, so here I am. I will try to keep this as short as possible and prevent a life story here. But as many of you are aware these things are typically quite complex.

I am a 38 year old, never married, no kids, who was previously diagnosed with bipolar but recently changed to depression with anxiety disorder. I started a job back in 10/13, and it had one of those 90 day wait periods for benefits. So, 3-4 months without medication. I have my masters in counseling studies with a focus on addictions counseling. I had been working as a drug and alcohol counselor, un-medicated, for 3-4 months. I’m sure many of you can imagine the kind of emotional toll it takes on a person with depression and anxiety, counseling that population un-medicated. And truthfully, it wasn’t people’s doom and gloom that got me, it was all the little brats with legal issues trying to play games to get out of the trouble they got themselves into… anxiety skyrocketed over the weeks and months, and one day instead of going to work I went to the local mental hospital. Nice $300 bill I have no idea how I am going to pay, but anyway…