New Medication

Discussion in 'I Have a Question...' started by Angel_Dawn, Nov 20, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Angel_Dawn

Angel_Dawn Well-Known Member

So my doctor just put me on a new medication to treat my anxiety disorder and stress. So one of the side effects listed is that is may cause suicidal thoughts. Well, being that I am on SF, I think I already have had plenty of those. But it's an ANTI-depressant, is this normal for anti depressants? Anyone know? :unsure:

2. Acy

Acy Mama Bear - TLC, Common Sense Staff Member Safety & Support

I'm not an expert by any means, but suicidal thoughts seem to be a common side effect with a few of the meds I've read about.

Sweetie, if you feel you are going to try to hurt/kill yourself, please call your doctor or a crisis line or even go to the emergency department of the hospital.

Please stay safe! :hug:
  3. Emptysoul

Emptysoul Well-Known Member

Ive noticed that you can get depression as a side affect with a lot of anti-depressants. Why do docs give u a pill that can give you the same problem that your trying to treat
  4. Emptysoul

Emptysoul Well-Known Member

Sorry that wasn't much help was it lol.
  5. Dave_N

Dave_N Guest

I've noticed this too. Why prescribe pills to treat depression if they are going to cause suicidal thoughts? Healing the mind is difficult, and simple drugs really can't do that. Eating healthy and living a healthy lifestyle is all you can really do.
  6. Petal

Petal SF dreamer Staff Alumni SF Supporter

I think its common..the anti-depressants im on have that side effect too.
  7. kayla19

kayla19 Well-Known Member