New to the site and NEVER thought I'd be here...

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by captialism2009, Oct 13, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. captialism2009

captialism2009 New Member

Hello to you all - I absolutely never thought I'd be posting on a suicide (albeit support) forum, but nevertheless, here I am. Here we all are. I have been battling depression for the last several years, essentially even since I left home (age 18).

I'm 26 now, a female working in a "good" job at a very prestigious Fortune 500 company, yet nothing seems right. I am doing a job that I completely disagree with (I disagree with consumerism yet work for a company that profits off such activities), I am way overworked and underpaid, barely able to make ends meet.

These days getting out of bed is a struggle, let alone taking a shower, washing my hair, putting on makeup, or getting dressed. What do you mean it's not OK to go to the grocery store with greasy hair and 3 day old clothes?! I stayed home from work today sick, but really it was just a cold, I really could have gone in if it was something I was passionate about.

I recently stopped seeing my therapist because she retired, but because I've been having these thoughts I decided to schedule an appointment with a new therapist - my appointment is tomorrow. I always hate starting over with a new therapist! If anyone has any recommendations on how to speed up the "intro" part to get to the help/substance I'd greatly appreciate it.