Discussion in 'Welcome' started by black mamba, Feb 16, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. black mamba

black mamba Active Member

I've just registered so I thought I'd better introduce myself. I don't really know what to say but here goes.....
    I'm a 27 year old student and have been battling depression for around the last ten years. Although I've had periods when I've been ok, the majority of the time I've been severely low and have attempted suicide twice. I've also self-harmed a lot, usually cutting my wrists or taking overdoses which weren't designed to kill me. I've also been admitted to hospital on four occasions which , I think probably made me worse than I already was.

I feel like I want to kill myself at the moment and I can't really talk to anyone who fully understands what it feels. So I suppose I turned to this forum in an attempt to talk to people who do.

2. Hazel

Hazel SF & Antiquitie's Friend Staff Alumni

Hello Bm and welcome to Sf, you have come to the right place as many of us here know exactly how it feels to be in a similar place as you are right now.
    I hope that you will find the support you are seeking here at Sf.

Take care Hazel
  3. black mamba

Thanks Hazel, I appreciate that.
  4. ~Claire

~Claire Well-Known Member

Welcome to SF.

I'm 26 & I have suffered depression for many years. Like you I have had periods where it has gone away but this time around it has been here for 3 years & doesn't seem to be going away.

You'll probably find that your story is similar to a lot of us here & I hope you can find some support in that.

:hug: Claire xx
  5. jameslyons

jameslyons Well-Known Member

Hello BM,

Welcome to the forum. The music's not very good and the coffee is almost always burnt, but everyone here's a real doll. Three rules to remember on the forum: Martinis are served at six, dinner at eleven, and dancing until four or five depending on how much you've had to drink at dinner.