Not hurt, just hopeless. Made plans...

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by NoWayForward, Jul 10, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. NoWayForward

NoWayForward Member

This is a long one, for which I humbly apologize.

I find myself here as the result of having dug myself into a rut from which there will be no extrication, as I've lost the characteristics which would have allowed me to escape it.

Four years ago, I was a hotshot assistant manager in fast food, aspiring one day to be a district manager, a salary which could support a respectable lifestyle (house, family, car, dog, whatever). I smoked marijuana, drank frequently, and had sex on tap. Despite my shortcomings in people/drama management skills I was wildly successful at work. I was absurdly happy most of the time, especially around my customers, who recognized me outside of work.

(This career is actually a mismatch for me; I am a math/tech person, not a people person. I just ended up here due to lack of ambition and 11 years of pot smoking. Notably, no matter how crazy things had gotten when I was younger, I always had a job at which I succeeded. That job was my anchor. I would always have a place to live, food to eat, and a way to get off, as long as I held my job. My use of a job as an anchor becomes a weakness later. I "aimed low" for gf's - this resulted in being with women who were thankful to be with me and would tolerate almost anything.)

Since then, I've managed to burn all of that. Problems at home, failure to resolve them, a change in partners, this new woman could give me everything I was missing at home. I fell hopelessly in romantic love with her. She was smart, sexy, competent, the polar opposite of my ex. So it was with her I would ascend to the respectable lifestyle I sought.