Oh so many

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by Nooneworthknowing, Mar 20, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Nooneworthknowing

Nooneworthknowing New Member

I see so many different people on here and they all have a myriad of reasons for wanting to end their lives. Many of these are poor reasons - the old "suicide is a permanent solution to a temporary problem" kind of thing. Some of them are such that suicide seems justifiable - even if alternate solutions also seem to exist. When you are suicidal there is a blanket of depression that drapes over you that blinds you to everything around you. You can't see solutions. You can't even see hope. All you can see is a black chasm. I have been fighting against ending my life for over 2 years now. I keep hoping for hope - for a good reason to keep on going. I have often suffered a failure of hope and have on those occasions tried to kill myself. Like many (I think) I tried reaching out to family but all they said was "well you need to talk to someone". This was richly ironic since I tried to talk to someone. I tried to talk to them.

Too often when a person reaches the depths of despair the people they reach out to for help are the exact same people who want them to get help - but who also shy away from being the person to give it. They see suicidal depression as an illness - which indeed it probably is - but it's a special kind of illness that comes from more stress and depression than the mind and body's natural defenses can withstand. If a long distance runner runs longer than his body can stand he is not treated as if he is a leper or somehow inadequate. It is no different with depression. Nobody wants to be depressed. Nobody wants to be suicidal. It's not our legs that give out though it is our hearts and our minds.