Ola...I'm Twiggy. ^_^

Discussion in 'Welcome' started by Twiggy, Dec 22, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Twiggy

Twiggy New Member

Hi there, everyone.

It's really strange to not go into a full on introduction of myself, like I always do. I'm a very social person, so...weird not going into it the way I normally do.

Anyway, I live in South Africa but am American-born. I've been here for about 12 years. I work in the media industry as a producer which is pretty cool cos I'm quite young - 26.

I recently started having suicidal thoughts and it's not the 1st time. A couple of years ago I was hospitalised for about a week and went to therapy for it. I don't think that the issues were really resolved though. Sadly enough, one of the major causes of my depression is a result of my relationship with my mother. I wouldn't say that this is the only source, but it is the most immediate one. It's a pretty convoluted story and I really need to get rid of this load so brace yourselves...it's gonna be a long one.

Basically, I lost my biological mother when I was 8 years old and a year later I lost my father who I had only really known after my mother's death. I know that this can be a cause for my depression. I was adopted by my aunt not too long after my parents' deaths and that is who I refer to as my mom now. not too long after that my teenage brother got himself in trouble with the law and was incarcerated for some years...I only saw him again when I was 20 when he was released from prison. At the time, I wasn't going through any kind of turmoil at the loss of both my parents and brother but as I got older and I understood the situations more I think I started to feel a certain resentment.