on the edge

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by Persephone2, Feb 21, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Persephone2

Persephone2 Active Member

First off, does anyone on this forum feel like it helps them?

I still haven't decide if I should try to live or try to die, but death seems like the best option so far.

I'm not just depressed because I have a serotine imbalance. I can hold on until that kind of mood passes and find things that make me feel better.

I'm not depressed because a lover broke up with me or because I lost my job. I've lived through those events and survived for the most part.

I'm here, thinking of killing myself, because I'm about to be homeless and friendless at the age of 51. I'm here because the one friend I thought really cared about me is evicting me and leaving me homeless. It's not really losing all my possessions and dog that hurts as much as losing her.

I'm not really afraid of dying,...not really. I'd rather be able to live, but if my life is only going to get worse from here on, then it makes sense to end it now, while I still have access to a statistically effective means to do so. I'm not a rash person and I don't want to fail at my attempt, so I looked up which methods are more likely to work. I don't have access to the most effective means, but I have basically the next most effective means.

I tell myself that this instinct to keep living is just habit, not rational. I don't have kids or anyone who's dependent on me. I made sure my mother was safe, but she won't even know who I am much longer. I isolated myself from all my other friends, so they won't even know when I'm gone. My roommate is trying to find someone else to take my dog, so I don't have to worry about having her put to sleep.