Overcoming Trust issues? :|

Discussion in 'I Have a Question...' started by Smashed__, May 12, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Smashed__

Smashed__ Well-Known Member

"Dear mum,
    The fact I love you more than life itself is becoming more apparent with each passing day. You Keep me alive, breathing and here.
    You are the biggest thread holding me together and you have wound around me tightly.
    When I am feeling low and worthless you always seem to see more.
    When I breakdown and reach for my only vice- you are there to pick up the pieces.
    I am trying to trust and open myself internally but no matter how much I think I have there is always a dark corner,
    in the back of my mind, where my deepest fears are stored.
    I see them over again and begin to worry.
    I feel like I know you will never leave me but the fear is still there.
    It eats at me from inside until I finally crumble and get reassurance.

I am not good with gifts but I wanted to try and do something that I know would count more than a little while.
    Today is Mother's Day and my biggest gift is to have faith.
    I am going to stop letting my fear destroy my trust and tell me 'it's coming'.
    I am going to trust you and tell myself everyday that no matter how angry I make you,
    how much I change about myself or how sick I am you will be there for me.
    I am going to try and reassure myself before I break down.
    I know this isn't anything most mothers want but I feel like it will take the most effort and it is coming from the heart.

I love you and I hope one day I will be okay.
    Dresden"

I wrote this to my mother and gave it to her mother's day evening. She hugged me, and when she pulled away she was crying.
    I guess it was a 'good cry' since it was followed with a "If you really mean it.......It's all I could ask for". I felt really good inside but I'm so scared I'll fail and give in again. :(