Party scare me, please help!

Discussion in 'I Have a Question...' started by Hatebeingasian, Sep 4, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Last year coming into college as a freshman, I was unprepared for the challenge that awaited me. I didn't realize that the first day of school there was a party. I went outside and everyone was dancing. My head was telling me "run back into my room and shut the door" and for a moment I wanted to, but I want to be able to dance as well. The whole 2 hours I stood next to a wall like a loser, I couldn't talk to anyone, I was afraid people would laugh at me when I dance. I was too nervous, and it felt like I was frozen. Finally when I got the courage to talk to people, they simply just ignore me, it seem that day half of the people there made friends, on the first day. The first day forecast my entire first year as scare and lonely.

Now a new year is upon us, and for me school start in late September. I can tell you right now that I am really scare, I don't know if I have the guts to dance. I haven't ever gotten drunk or drink more than a can of beer, but I know most people do get drunk to feel relax and dances. People on different forums tell me to take a chance, but I'm too scare. I could play it safe and never go to a single party in my life, but then what fun is that, to have to hide everyone, that is moronic. Right now the biggest thing I am concern is the welcome back dance at the center of the school outdoor. Last years so many pretty girl, most were on crack, weed, drunk, or whatever they could get there hand on. This girls are so wild, I don't know if I can handle them. I want to, because I want one as my girlfriend someday but I lack that confidence to be myself around an area of a couple of thousand student, and yes the dance is that big. I mean so many random girls and guys bumping and grinding each other everywhere, it like sex fest without the sex.