Planning a suicide attempt broke my years-long depression - what? why? how?

Discussion in 'I Have a Question...' started by Donot Ask, Oct 6, 2016.

1. Donot Ask

Donot Ask New Member

Right. Bear with me on this one. I'm new to both this forum and this whole suicide topic, so sorry in advance for any newbie mistakes.

Tl;dr-version of "My Story":
    I'm a 28 year old male STEM-field student from northern Europe. Because of my heritage, a great deal is expected of me in terms of education and success. I also have a strong personal urge to succeed. However, I consistently fail to uphold the standards I set for myself. Even in cases where my expectations are waaay low, something in my head prevents me from performing tasks adequately, or even at all. Needless to say, this has been wreaking havoc on my studies, and I'm now about two months away from facing an outright fail and dismissal of my entire degree. Oh yeah, and I'm also a social pariah with low self-esteem, no money, no firends and no girlfriend (ever). My only redeeming feature is an above average intelligence, and should i fail in making this into a career, which is wholly dependent on my education, then I would rather kill myself than live with the failure.

Now on to the actual topic: