Pretending to have friends, is this really okay?

Discussion in 'I Have a Question...' started by Finley, Sep 30, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Finley

Finley New Member

So basically I dont have any friends :( so whenever I meet somebody that I think I could become friends with I always make it seem like I at least have a couple of friends so they don't think I'm weird:sad:. Is this okay? How would you guys react if you were having a conversation with somebody and lets say you asked how many friends they have and they said they dont have any?
  2. In a Lonely Place

In a Lonely Place Well-Known Member

Hey finley,I like you don't have friends and I worked in construction for 16yrs and used to get negative comments. I think that regular people think your a freak if you don't have friends so my advice would be to pretend by all means as it will save you being viewed as a freak. When you make some friends and maybe they ask about your pretend friends,you can always just say they were bad people blah blah blah. Just make out you've dropped those friends or they've dropped you,I know it's not nice telling lies but in my opinion it would be the better option.
  3. BeautifullyChaotic

BeautifullyChaotic Well-Known Member

You have us, Finley. You don't have to pretend anymore :)

I do it too though. On the rare occasion that I meet someone new and think we could maybe be friends I start talking about old friends from my past as if we are still friends. People are more drawn to other people that they see as socially normal, people with a close group of friends, I see nothing wrong with saying you have friends, just don't try to create details about them, the more details you give, the more chance you have of contradicting yourself.
    Besides, like I said before, you have us. A whole community of friends :)
  4. pppqp

pppqp Well-Known Member