1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Probably can't get the job I thought I could because I hold a degree

Discussion in 'Work and Financial Problems' started by JCC988, Feb 4, 2018.

1. JCC988

JCC988 Well-Known Member

So I was thinking of trying for some jobs at a movie theatre. The application asks for education. In my experience I was never able to get any kind of job after college. I suspect it was exactly because I went to college. And believe me I applied for literally hundreds of positions. Nothing, not even an interview. It's possible that there are bots that filter out college education. I can't lie on the application because they could just do a background check and find out. And nobody is going to hire a liar. I mean would you?

So yeah. I'm stuck and don't know what to do. I sure need a higher income though.

2. JulieDegraw

JulieDegraw Well-Known Member

Is it because they think you're overqualified ?

I never understood why someone with a degree can't get a "simple" job.

Why is that ?

3. JCC988

JCC988 Well-Known Member

Employers of low wage jobs think everyone with a degree is overqualified.

Last edited: Feb 4, 2018
  4. JulieDegraw

But what's it to them if you're genuinely interested in doing a good job ?

Petal likes this.
  5. Petal

Petal SF dreamer Staff Member Safety & Support SF Supporter

I have never understood the ''over qualified'' thing, like julie ii wondering if you genuinely want to do the job why would they prevent you?

6. JCC988

JCC988 Well-Known Member

Employers assume a lot of things. Like being overqualified. It doesn't matter how good of a worker you would be. If two people have the same qualifications except that one has a college degree and the other has only a high school education, the employer will pick the high school educated every time simply because they consider the college education an overqualification.

Petal likes this.
  7. JCC988