'Professionals' who themselves are suicidal

Discussion in 'I Have a Question...' started by warrabinda, Jan 17, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. warrabinda

warrabinda Well-Known Member

Hi
    I am struggling right now with the reality that I am a social care professional. I am meant to, and want to, focus on other people and make their circumstances better. In order to do this I
    a) have to focus and concentrate
    b) have to be able to feel emotion and empathise
    c) have to function on a basic level i.e. self-care, showering, in order to get to work everyday.

I am not really doing any of those three to the standard that is required. And I hate myself for it. It's humiliating. I feel like I am living a lie.
    2 years ago I was relatively healthy and couldn't wait to get out into the field, and now I'm in it I can't do it.
    So I'm just curious if there are any other particularly health professionals who are in this predicament. How do you deal with it? What are your feelings/thoughts about it? Has this always been the case?
    I have the job I dreamed of for years, and I have never been in a worse place mentally. Obviously I feel terrified it's going to affect my clients, that goes without saying. So far it hasn't though I don't think I've been able to connect on an emotional level; I know this and it drives me crazy.

2. Socialman

Socialman Well-Known Member

I've read of cases where psychologists become depressed and suicidal. I'm not a professional, but you should know that professionals can definitely become exhausted with their jobs. I used to know a lady that worked in the same office building. She trained to take care of animals, but then she found out she was actually allergic to the little fur balls.