psychologist waiting list

Discussion in 'Mental Health Disorders' started by roo_army, Dec 4, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. roo_army

roo_army Member

I cannot believe the waiting list to see a psychologist.
    I went to the doctors explained my 'moderate/severe' depression and was told I could expect to wait 8 weeks to see a psychologist. Even after I admitted that I had considered suicide. (although I maybe downplayed it a little as I didnt want to be sectioned...maybe thats my problem).

Anyway the reason why i find it even MORE annoying, is that I have a bloody psychology bachelors AND masters degree and there are NO assistant psych posts!

2. LostSpirit

LostSpirit Well-Known Member

arghhh i hope i havent go to wait that long, im seeing my doc tomoz, and seriously if i have to wait 8 weeks to see one, i will kick up a stink, i may not even be here in 8 weeks :wink:
  3. roo_army

roo_army Member

well it will differ where you live i think.

And you should be honest with your doctor (yehyeh call me a hypocrit),
    if you think you literally wont survive the waiting list, tell them and I'm sure there will be some sort of emergency protocol.

And I'm usually about if you want to PM !
  4. daredhead

daredhead Well-Known Member

It depends on where you go. I have been to several psychologists, and some can get you in sooner than others. If it is an option, try going to someone else.
  5. ToHelp

ToHelp Well-Known Member

Holy hell. WTF. You people have it worse than we do in the states. (You in England?)

Wierd that you're practically a psychologist yourself but goes to show I guess.

6. roo_army

roo_army Member

yeah, this is in the UK. thats the NHS for ya. I guess you could get one much quicker if you go privately.

And yeah i guess you can know all the theory, but not really do the practice. Does that make sense? Either that, or I am destined to be the worlds worst psychologist :)
  7. wastedmylife

wastedmylife Well-Known Member