Question about being bi-polar

Discussion in 'I Have a Question...' started by bb564, May 30, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bb564

bb564 Guest

Does this ever go away? Anyway of dealing with this?

I don't think I can live like this much longer.

2. diver200

diver200 Senior Member

I am BP as well. My understanding is that it is a lifetime disorder. I'm not a doctor though. Talk with whoever it was that diagnosed you. They may be able to help you understand this dreadful problem. Good luck.

3. ggg456

ggg456 Guest

what are you going through symptom wise?

I'm so-so good with managing things, but when i'm cycling fast it's like being in a nightmare and sometimes i'm not even falling into a depression i'm manic-going down to normal and sleeping not well and generally racing around for weeks..

if this helps- the less stimuli the better. dark room, no music. forcing myself to lie down and close my eyes (if i'm not dealing with images, thoughts,)

i don't know there's so much i go through, and have gone through.

what's bothering you specifically? bipolar is a huge diagnosis and peoples' symptoms vary.

4. dazzle11215

dazzle11215 Staff Alumni

i believe you can manage your symptoms, the time spent tracking your moods and habits will pay off down the road. for me, i have to do certain things, every day, no matter my mood, in order to be stable: 8 hours sleep, walking, taking meds, some human contact (talking to a friend, or getting outside to a cafe or something), no alcohol or only in moderation. if i shortcut on any of these things then i start to spin out.

what specifically is most challenging to you about being bipolar? my hardest times are when i'm bugging out - sort of manic but agitated and very suicidal. the best i could describe it is there is a blizzard in my head and i'm ready to jump out of my skin. it's just the worst feeling in the world.