Question about suicide

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by GreenChick, Apr 10, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GreenChick

GreenChick Active Member

I may have diabetes. My aunt had it she lost her leg and died at 50. I am not good with restricting eating, I love sweets and stuff, I know that if I get diabetes I will not be able to manage it and will die a horrible death.

So I find out in a few days if I have it.

If I do have it, I think I will decide to commit suicide.

My question is this - is it better for friends and family not to know its coming? Like I shouldn't talk about what I'm planning to do or drop any hints so they won't know? Or should I try to prepare them?

Should I give or will my posessions away to friends, will they like to have them or will that make it harder in the long run?

How can I make it easy on the people who care about me, cushion the blow as much as possible? Make them realize that its not their fault or anything, because I wouldn't want any one to think that.
  2. WildCherry

WildCherry Staff Member ADMIN

This won't be what you want to hear. But nothing will cushion the blow. Whether they know about it or not, they would still hurt if it happened, still carry around the guilt and the pain of losing you.

I hope you don't have diabetes. But if you do, you can learn to manage it. It's not easy for anyone; nobody thinks it's something they can handle until it happens. But it's manageable, and it's worth a try.
  3. daniel2

daniel2 Banned Member

death vs. sweets? :)
    might want to re-evaluate that one
  4. Stranger1

Stranger1 Forum Buddy & Antiquities Friend

Hey Greenchick,