Quetiapine - Considering stopping medication - Need advice!

Discussion in 'I Have a Question...' started by NPNS, Apr 30, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. NPNS

NPNS Well-Known Member

Hi

I've been on Quetiapine for a few months now (200mg at night). At first it was great, my mood swings were getting less and less and my hallucinations weren't bothering me, though they are still with me.

The problem is, I'm constantly in "the grey area" (Which I'm sure anyone that's taken anti-depressants and such will be familiar with) and I can't stand it any longer! I miss my manic ups and the creative downs, and since I'm a writer, not having these anymore is scuppering my creativity. I've got some serious writer's block which I'm sure is because of my medication.

What I want to know is, has anyone had a similar experience with Quetiapine (or in fact, any medication that's had this effect) and stopped taking it? I'm not sure whether it's worth coming off any medication, or switching to one that's a bit milder?

Thanks, NP x

2. ASkylitDrive

ASkylitDrive Well-Known Member

Well..I've never taken Quetiapine..so I can't relate in the way you want me to.
    But I do what its like to take medication and not exactly like the changes.
    I took a benzo for anxiety and i didn't like how it effected me.
    Now I did a bit of research..and it claims if you miss a dose you have to take it quickly. That usually means its serious to keep up with it and not stop.
    Maybe talk to your doctor?

3. NPNS

NPNS Well-Known Member

I've missed my dose once before and it was hell. (cold sweats and such) so I know I'd have to ween myself off of it. I've not spoken to my doctor about it yet, but I plan to. Last time I mentioned coming off of my meds it was met with a funny look, so I thought I'd ask other people's experiences of ceasing Quetiapine therapy.

4. ASkylitDrive

ASkylitDrive Well-Known Member