Really feeling worthless, hopeless

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by treatmentgirl, Dec 10, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. treatmentgirl

treatmentgirl Member

Well, these next few weeks will be a dangerous time for me- finals week. When I'm stressed about school I usually think about killing myself. It's just a major trigger, always has been. I get this unbelievable anxiety.

And now I'm a freshman in college, where it MATTERS.

I want to be a pediatrician- it's always been my goal, my dream. But I feel so incompetent. I can't even function in college. I just feel like if I don't do well, I'll have nothing left. I always thought that if I became a pediatrician I'd be happy.

It's just difficult to function right now. My roommate moved out (we got along fine, she just wanted to be with her boyfriend) and it's so easy for me to just crawl away and hide in my room. I don't have many good friends here and I have horrible self confidence.

Maybe this sounds like a childish rant. It kind of is. But it's affecting me. And I'm afraid I'm going to try to kill myself. The worst thing is that when I would attempt at home my parents were always there. But here? I can just hide in my room and die. No one would know. And that scares me ****less.

Katie

2. Unwilling

Unwilling Member

I know how you feel, the worries about GPA and getting all the work done on time. It always seems that every instructor thinks you have your entire week to dedicate to their class.

I just try to get through it, because pass or fail, the stress goes down significantly as soon as you turn in your last paper. After, the worries of not accomplishing your goal are more in perspective. But now, you will feel overwhelmed.

Do you know if there is someone on the campus you can talk to about this? Professional or not, I think telling someone would really help.

3. johnnysays

johnnysays Well-Known Member