Really having a hard time... completely alone

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by treatmentgirl, Oct 26, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. treatmentgirl

treatmentgirl Member

Hi, my name is Katie.

I'm really struggling right now- I'm currently a freshman at college, and just got back from fall break. I'm in my dorm (alone, as always) and have just lost hope. I have a long story and am in a complicated situation, so this post will most likely be really long. Achk- I don't even know where to start.

I've struggled with depression and anxiety my whole life- I started attempting s. in 7th grade. I was hospitalized twice in ninth grade and went to a wilderness program and a residential treatment center (for 7 weeks and eleven months respectively). I've been to many therapists and have tried countless medications. I attempted a year ago and was in the psych ward for a week, but got my life back together and graduated high school with the rest of my class.

I currently go to a university about 3 hours (driving) from home. I live in the dorms and until recently had a great roommate. She stopped living here at the end of September, and my life has been pretty much going downhill from there. During that time I also developed a serious staph infection (MRSA) and missed 2 weeks of classes. Not only that, but with my roommate no longer living here I find myself having a much harder time trying to function. I'm a shy-ish person naturally and, with her gone, pretty much have little to no contact with others outside of classes. I basically go to my room and stay there. I am incredibley behind on my coursework- I just don't see how I could pass my classes this semester. Worst of all, I recently had the whole week at home to make up what I missed. Yet everytime I thought about school I started to have a panic attack. I can't bring myself to do simple tasks like doing the laundry or going to get something to eat.