Really Struggling

Discussion in 'Rants, Musings and Ideas' started by SillyOldBear, Dec 15, 2013.

1. SillyOldBear

SillyOldBear Teddy Bear Fanatic Staff Member Safety & Support

Hi all. I'm a newbie to this site. Wish I wasn't here. But glad the site is available.

I got laid off in July. Still can't find work. But looking diligently. Unemployment will soon run out. Unless Feds develop a heart and renew them. I'm 61 years old. I've had a number of interviews, but believe when they see how old I am, the lose interest. Old people just are not wanted.

Never married, no pension, always done clerical work. Translation = no money.

I am afraid. I am angry. At the world and at myself. I should have done better.

Yes, I think of ending it all. Every day I think of it. The future just looks horrible. When it gets really bad, I make sure to get off my butt and do something. I know I really don't want to die.

Thanks for listening.
  2. flowers

flowers Senior Member

hi. So sorry you lost your job. It can be demoralizing to look for work and hear "no" so often. It can cause people to feel horrible about themselves and the projected future. Terrible place to be in. Sadly you are in very good company. Too many people are in that unemploument boat.

I do not know what you will think of this idea. But often volunteering can lead to employment. And it can help to feel useful. I do not know if this is something you can afford to do right now. or if you spend your days looking for work. If you do that, then volunteering would not be possible. I just wanted to mention it for those 2 reasons. It makes people feel useful. And it can open the door to employment.
    Glad you found this community. I do think its a great one.
  3. Witty_Sarcasm

Witty_Sarcasm Writer, Musician, Fun Lover, Magic Maker