Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by will_1957, Dec 11, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. will_1957

will_1957 Well-Known Member

I was just wondering what some of the reasons are for people wanting to commit suicide and whether they are because of well-defined problems in life like financial issues or whether they are from something else.

I know that one of the main reasons that I want to die is because of my financial situation. Before I graduated from high school I wasn't really suicidal and that was probably because I still had hope of doing something with my life. After that I just made decisions that I now regret like taking out a bunch of loans to pay for college because it's the only financial aid I could get and basically watching my debt pile up.

Now I've graduated and am pretty much in the same situation I was in after I graduated from high school only now I have shit loads of student loans to pay back. All this time I have felt like a drain on my family because I haven't made enough money to move out to a place on my own.

I feel like a complete failure and I really can't see myself being successful just because I'm really not good at anything. The only thing I see in my future is being a bigger drain on my family because I can't find a decent job or take care of myself.

If it were just me I had to worry about I could stand being miserable most of the time and could stand being in a go-nowhere job if it didn't hurt any one else but myself.

If the financial issues went away I think I might still be suicidal and I doubt my depression would just go away but right now the biggest risk factor for me is feeling like I'm just going nowhere and my family is paying for my lack of any real ambition or talent to get a decent job and live on my own.

I guess I was wondering if other people had these kinds of issues and if they were the main factors behind wanting to commit suicide.