Ruin family by confessing or suicide... (long)

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by max0718, Jul 5, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. max0718

max0718 Well-Known Member

Hi. This is my first time posting and trying to explain my feelings, so please bare with me if this post is a bit lengthy..

I am suffering from suicidal feelings for some time now. I've been suffering from depression since I was about 16, and it was left untreated until last year when I finally went to see a psychiatrist. It all started basically from seeing my dad going through depression due to my grandfather dying when I was 16. My dad started drinking, and I ( being the oldest in the house at the time) was forced to deal with him on my own. My mother was working in another city for most of the week, and I was trying to protect my younger brother from seeing my father like that. One night my mother awoke me in the middle of the night, yelling frantically that my father has gone crazy and I must protect her. I still don't know what happened but I think that he attempted suicide and she walked in on him. He subsequently shot himself in the leg, and I had to help him put in stitches. I only remember standing there shivering the entire time, feeling extremely helpless. Anyway that was a long time ago, and my father has since made a full recovery from his depression, still occasionally having too much to drink, but without becoming violent.