Scared of the future

Status
Not open for further replies.

cloud9

Do you ever worry about where you're going to be in the next five? ten years?
I'm not sure if I'm going to be in the line of work that I like. Will I still be single? What is my relationship going to be like with my friends? With my parents? It all sort of scares me.

I hate the stuff I'm studying right now. Accounting is so boring and I am already in fourth year. Will I have the balls to try and apply to med school? How would I take a rejection from med school? If I get rejected would I try the next best thing like pharmacy? Or would I just stick to the subject of accounting, something I've grown to hate over the last few years. After all, I think the expectation is that I do well - go to med school or get an mba. Or maybe I'm guilty of self-imposing this expectation. I just don't know, but I'm worried.

Are my parents going to be understanding of a career change? That's four more years of school. How would I pay? Lately I've been doing a lot of things my parents wouldn't approve of - behind their backs of course. In the next few years would they find out? Would they try to control me? Would they disown me or what? I'm just about to sign a lease to live with girls from my program. For one full year I'd have to lie about who I'm living with. Have my parents meet my guy friends and pretend they are my roommates. Keep them away from my home in university so they don't find out I live with girls. At some point they're going to know I do this sort of thing, right? What then?