Seeing a counsellor who doesn't offer an opinion

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by Aleth, Sep 9, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Aleth

Aleth Well-Known Member

Ok, I went to my doctor and told him I was suicidal and was referred to a intermediary counsellor, and have seen him twice, before being sent on to a psychiatrist in a couple of weeks.

I feel very dissappointed with the experience so far. They just ask lots of questions, assess, and offer no opinions whatsoever. I found myself trying to guage his response to my problems and came up with nothing.
    I guess, at the very least, I expected some sort of pep talk. Yeah, it wouldn't have counted for much in my mind, but at least I wouldn't have this nagging feeling that he probably thinks I'm a basket-case with no real hope.

Is this counsellor with no opinions experience normal?
    I've never tried this before and don't really know what to expect.
  2. Terry

Terry Antiquities Friend Staff Alumni

He/she is probably doing an assessment for the shrink (psychiatrist) and ergo will not offer an opinion.
    The experience can be a bit like talking to a brick wall, but wait, you will soon have the joy of a therapist who doesn't say anything :laugh:
    Once sat in silence for 45 minutes with my therapist...he broke before I did :tongue:
    Tho seriously sometimes silence is the best way to get to the heart of whats going on, you tend to want to fill the silence so will let slip more than you realise.
    Stick with it. :hug:
  3. Aleth

Aleth Well-Known Member

You're probably right. I'm still feeling really really unsure about doing this whole psych thing, and am trying to make some sense of what the whole point is, and not perhaps just an exercise in futility.

Jeez, that sounds godamn awful. :eek:hmy: