Serendipity

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by Miasma, Apr 28, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Miasma

Miasma New Member

OK been toying with these issues a lot lately, was really interested to get your perspective on it. For obvious reasons one can't really talk about this openly with family and friends and although I've tried to have a somewhat logical discussion about a minor aspect with a friend once the reaction was 'it's sad that you think that way'.

So, I guess I'm struggling, in a way to cope with the serendipity (for lack of a better word) of life. To start with, everyone has heard of the big bang. So, this whole thing, not only matter like the stars and the planets and our little green and blue planet but also time and space and laws of uncountable varieties and proportions were created. (Please I don't want this to be a discussion of the big bang/God/religion but I'm a scientist and know there to be pretty convincing evidence of a time when our universe was infinitely dense and small so that's what I believe). So we were so close to being whatever existed before that, an antimatter universe, nothing, not even existence, one small glitch somewhere, created everything not just life, but everything like space etc (all that I said before). You could call it fortune or destiny but conversely I find non-existence just seems to scream to me that it's what was destined. Even in this world, think of all the millions of mistakes that made you you, the millions of ova and sperm in your parents, the miscarriages that your mother had before you were born, the trillions upon trillions of DNA replications that went on successfully enough to create you an incredibly complex organism of unimaginable proportions. I mean just for example my mother had a miscarriage of a baby that was due in May of a year, I was born in August that same year (she miscarried at like 3 months and then fell pregnant with me). That doesn't partic