Serious blow to my way of life, i cant believe it.

Discussion in 'Rants, Musings and Ideas' started by rsand, Feb 10, 2010.

1. rsand

rsand Member

Sorry if i seem to ramble and things don't make any sense but I cannot wrap my mind around this at all.

I have been a firefighter for about 3 years and i found out last friday that i can no longer work anymore due to, advanced cartilage and bone loss and osteoarthritis. I have been out of work since then and cannot believe it this has been my way of life for as long as i can remember, i feel like i am letting my family down.

I know they say they are going to help me through this but i cannot wrap my head around this. The dept is trying to find me another position but they say it doesnt look good. I am trying to let the memories i had of the job keep me going, I dont know if anybody can understand but this was not only a job but a way of life for me. My kids eyes when i was going to work or coming home was awesome, they had this look of pride to see their daddy. I cant believe this.
  2. total eclipse

total eclipse SF Friend Staff Alumni

I understand if i lost my job i would not know what to do either. It brings me such enjoyment and pride. I would think you could help teaching the newer fighter fighters the ropes in theory I hope somehow they can keep you going to the area maybe even doing the dispatch work take care okay it will work out.
  3. rsand

rsand Member

I hope so, the only thing was i wasn't really around long enough to really be considered somebody that could really do any training. I have always been somebody that has preached that i will never be a "desk jockey" and damn here it comes, no offense to anybody that does do it its just not me or my lifestyle.