Should I become a writer?

Discussion in 'I Have a Question...' started by Tobes, Mar 15, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tobes

Tobes Well-Known Member

I'm considering writing for a career. I feel that I am a fairly good writer, despite sometimes having a different outlook on things (although this can be a valuable asset). I'm not sure whether I want to write stories or articles, although I am leaning towards the latter. I am not as creative as I used to be, and usually write about what I know, or think I know.

I am going for writing as a career because I prefer my own solitude. I get anxious in social situations, and careers that involve writing can be good for a non-social person like myself. Of course it will have it's social aspects (e.g meeting with superiors, employers and so on) but that I can handle.

The problem I have is that I have 3 major drawbacks that are stopping me from diving into this.

1. I am self-conscious, and may not be comfortable knowing that anybody is reading what I write without me having any control over it.
    I currently have trouble with this when I post here, and I worry that people think I am either a) a fool b) deluded or c) a deluded fool. I also tend to regret a lot of the things I have written after I write it, for no good reason.

2. Criticism may stop me from furthering my writing.
    If I get criticized, I generally won't see it as constructive, rather as a judgment or attack(stupid, I know, but I can't seem to control this reaction).

3. I am lazy.