Sleeping is a waste of time.

Discussion in 'Midnight Owl' started by shounagatsuki, Dec 30, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. shounagatsuki

shounagatsuki Member

....or so I thought.

I've been told that I'm workaholic, even though I still consider myself lazy. I'm a freelance manga illustrator and home tutor, as well as a student. Right now I'm in debt and forced to take more side jobs. At night I feel really restless and somehow my brain refuses to sleep, saying "Sleep is a waste of time, you could be drawing right now, or studying." I can only sleep 3-4 hours a day and sometimes I go 1-2 days without sleep at all. When I'm near deadline or exams, I only take power naps, each 90 minutes about 2-3 times a day usually during noon-afternoon. I've lived this way since high school, and now it finally takes its toll; I feel drained and dizzy all day. I had collapsed from exhaustion a few times. My mom seemed to worry because the case of 'death from work' is on the rise, especially after last year one of my friend died from constant stress in workplace and sleep deprivation. She had warned me to relax but I just can't. I feel overwhelmed with my tasks. I'd love to sleep like a normal person but I can't abandon my work and study.

Anyone else can relate?

2. Moat

Moat Banned Member

The average human will spend 1/3 or their life sleeping, which equates to about 20 - 25 years over 75 Year life span - so I can see how you thought up the title of your thread, but pretty much everything else within it, I would have to disagree with.