Slowly being pushed to the edge

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by Davec27, Aug 15, 2016.

1. Davec27

Davec27 Member

i suspect most people here are young (under 50) and may not understand this, but I am recently retired and realise lots of regrets in my life. I am a doctor, lost £1m through a scam, now feel bad about not spotting it and failing my children. Had loads of medicine and psychotherapy seen every week, nothing seems to have helped. I suspect I cannot last out much longer.
    Really desperate but neve one to complain previously. Only had 3.days off sick in 40 years until this.
    It seems like nothing left to help.
    Lots of kind words and sympathy but it feels inevitable and I am very dangerous,
    I have an enviable life. No need to work, beautiful wife and children, income and yet I am tormented with self loathing. It will be really bad for all of them.
    No talking treatments have worked, in fact they have opened a pandora station box of additional worries and regrets.
    I feel doomed, every day a struggle. Really bad
  2. Brian777

Brian777 Safety and Support Forum Pro SF Supporter

Hey Dave, I'm a little bit older than you :) welcome to the forum. I retired 2 yrs ago, I was an RN in an inner city emergency room for 20yrs. Basically retired because of back injuries and to look after my 87yr old mom who passed away last year. I understand about regrets, last Christmas I was seriously planning on ending it.
    You said it yourself Dave, you've got a good wife and children and I'm sure you mean the world to them, stick around for them my friend. This is a good place where you can air your feelings and there's a lot of good people here that are going through similar problems, they help and support you. You're not alone Dave, there's no judgement here, just understanding and friendship. Take care and pm me if you want to talk privately.
    lightning05 likes this.
  3. IamTetsuo

IamTetsuo Well-Known Member