Smoking and drinking justified if it makes you feel happy?

Discussion in 'Self Harm & Substance Abuse' started by Hoppip, Nov 2, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hoppip

Hoppip New Member

I'm 19 and I've been smoking for three years. When I get out drinking I need a fag every 20-30 minutes otherwise I go insane. It kinda helps me to cope with everything going on around me, plus it helps me everyday at work and when I'm shopping. It just feels relaxing.

Lately I've also been drinking a lot by myself. like maybe half a bottle of vodka at least a night. I can't really cope any other way.

So my question for you guys is, do you think that me drinking and smoking is justified by the happiness it gives me to stop from feeling suicidal? Because surely in this scenario it prolongs my life doesn't it?
  2. Petal

Petal SF dreamer Staff Alumni SF Supporter

Hey there, I'm 25 been smoking since early teens, I smoke a lot despite having asthma. I'm not gonna lie-yes I do try and justify how much I smoke (which is a lot) from anxiety. Truth is it does help calm me but since I find it so hard to quit I don't know if without smoking I wouldn't miss it- if that makes sense lol.

I used to drink, it doesn't agree with me, makes me angry, so I just don't at all.

However I do believe that a lot of people try and justify drink, smoking and illegal drugs because they do believe it is helping. I would never suggest to someone to do anything of the sort to help them.

You're not alone! :hug:

I can't really give you an answer to your person to ask is your doctor although yes I know they won't agree but I do understand that you feel it's prolonging your life. Do whatever feels right and try and quit as you get better! Half a bottle of vodka a night is alot, if you can't quit then maybe cut down.
  3. AsphyxiateOnMisery

AsphyxiateOnMisery Well-Known Member