smoking weed and depression

Discussion in 'Self Harm & Substance Abuse' started by dracolin, Sep 11, 2016.

1. dracolin

dracolin New Member

i have been smoking weed for over 5 years, and whenever i am without it i just wanna end it all..

i can't stand being sober, i wish i was high all the time
    sometimes i wish i never started smoking, so i wouldn't know the pleasure and medical benefits it would give me. Whenever my dealer is out of town or i can't find bud.. i just get really down and can't be happy no matter what.

I have good hobbies like playing guitar in a band, skateboarding, videogames, etc
    i'm in college as well, but i just have no focus on what i want to do with my life, just everything feels pointless...

I think i have bipolar disorder and major depersonalization (i just don't feel like a person anymore, just an entity, an alien looking at the world around me in disgust..)

anyone else try to use mmj for their depression or other symptoms? do you also feel suicidal without it?

2. Dikta

Dikta Autistic.

I'm sorry you feel like you do, but don't end it. Things will get better, when you're not high.

I haven't personally tried it, but one in my family does it, and for the same reasons. So I kinda get it in a way, like it's a way to escape and such.

But have you tried contacting a doctor or so, to get it confirmed if you have a diagnosis or?

dracolin likes this.
  3. Freya

Freya Loves SF Staff Member ADMIN

Maijuana withdrawl is now a recognised condition. Maijuana creates a dependency (a dependency means that the user does not feel physically or emotionally okay without it - vs an addiction which is characterised by the prioritising of a substance or thing above anything else). The symptoms of Maijuana withdrawl (which you pretty much certainly have if you have been using it for 5 years) are depression, anxiety, apathy, insomnia, worry, mood swings and detachment.