So this is where you've been hiding...

Discussion in 'Welcome' started by Another.Audrey, Feb 1, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Are you the ones I can talk to? People who'll understand, or at least make the effort? I've been looking all over for you.

Hi. :)

My name's Audrey. I'm a grad student (in psychology, of all things) and though I've never made it further than a few steps into planning, I've had a strange fascination with suicide ever since I was a pre-teen. I have a chronic illness that's kept me more isolated than most would consider normal, and though I'm not a negative person, I do have a profound melancholy streak that keeps the darker and shadowy sides of the world close.

I've struggled with addictions and anorexia in the past--both slow suicides, in some way--and though things recently have been better, I take a strange comfort in knowing I have another 'out.'

I joined the forum mostly because I wanted to spend time (even virtual time) around others who'd at least understand the impulse, or who'd know a little what it's like to wrestle with it. I think, too, that as an agnostic / atheist, I have an interest in the philosophical problem of suicide, and I'm genuinely interested in exploring the question with others who won't immediately push me in the direction of a crisis hotline. :)

So that's that. If anyone wants to talk, I'm here--for all my broodiness I'm generally a good listener and a supportive and genuinely warm person--and I'm looking forward to getting to know the community a bit better.

2. In Limbo

In Limbo Forum Buddy

Welcome to the fora Audrey, hope you find them useful. Be interested to hear your own take on things philosophically, it's always an interesting thing for me to see others' POV....

3. Sadeyes

Sadeyes Staff Alumni