So what do you do when there's nothing?

Discussion in 'Welcome' started by caesarsmom, Mar 6, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. caesarsmom

caesarsmom New Member

I guess I'm too old to be thinking about this stuff at 41. I have no kids, asked for a divorce in October and the only thing I have is a management job I love. Unfortunately, I'm a new manager and am making a lot of mistakes. I committed (at least in my head) career suicide, which now leaves nothing for me. My friends are work friends and I hardly ever see my family. I've created a world that's really lonely and if I'm not at work, I have nothing. I just am by myself and it desperately reminds me that no one would ever know if I died until I didn't show up at work.

There's really no purpose for me on earth. I'll never be a mom, I'm not anything special to anyone, and I may never advance in my job either. I feel like waste of space on earth right now. My boss told me I need to find a work/life balance because I work too much. Essentially, I think he was telling me to get a life. I don't have one right now. I don't think I care anymore either.

I just don't see how things are going to get better. The one area of my life where I had hope now doesn't feel that hopeful to me at all. If I knew of a sure fire way to commit suicide without being messy or making someone find me, I'd do it.

I feel like I just go through life apologizing for my existence.

2. NYJmpMaster

NYJmpMaster Have a question? Message Me Staff Member Forum Owner ADMIN

I do not think you are too old to be thinking about this stuff. That is roughly the age when I started having real issues with depression , which were also largely work related when I became unable to to work anymore because of physical reasons.