social anxiety

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by blurredlaser, Jul 15, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. blurredlaser

blurredlaser New Member

Anybody else have this problem? People have told me since I was little that I was very quiet, too quiet, "Why are you so quiet?" I've always had trouble making friends and finding work. It REALLY became a problem once I got to college and at one point I dropped out but went back after I realized I could barely hold a job for a week. So I figured I would just power through the rest of college and ignore the depression/social anxiety stuff until I graduated. I graduated and worked for about a year and a half but eventually I just broke down mentally and quit.

Since then I've been in and out of jobs for almost 2 years and I have realized I have to change something or I'm going to end up offing myself. I stopped drinking/doing any drugs, I've started exercising. I've been seeing a therapist for years but I haven't made much progress.

The strategies people suggest to me, like "Get out there and start talking to people" and "Go out and start making friends", as if they know what they're talking about and it's the most obvious thing in the world, make me wonder if it's even possible for me to get across to anybody else just how drastically that plan of action has not worked for me. It's like telling somebody on crutches to get out there and swing dance. I wish I knew objectively what singles me out from most other people so I could change it, but I still have no idea. I know it's related to social anxiety disorder / avoidant personality disorder, I just don't know how to fix it. It really does make a person suicidal.
  2. nolonger

nolonger Well-Known Member