Solipsistic Tentative Initiation

Discussion in 'Welcome' started by Bashman, Apr 15, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bashman

Bashman New Member

So yeah, as you can plainly tell, I am of the newb variety. I'm not very good at describing myself as a person. I dropped into the chatroom a few times before I came in here and I have to say, I was greeted with a very much mixed reaction. Some people seemed friendly, others, rather hostile, aloof, and self-centred. But the same is true for life, I suppose. I only hope that posting here will prove to be a slightly more consistent experience in terms of peoples' kindness. I definitely know I shouldn't judge, especially as this forum is centred around support for those with a significant amount of personal problems, so I should be embracing and being tolerant of imperfection, instead of childishly pointing it out like so. Still, I thought it appropriate to give a brief recounting of my first impression. I'm certainly not about to draw any conclusions.

Suicidal thoughts are something that have been an inherent part of me for as long as I can remember. Of course the degree to which they manifest themselves has varied greatly over the years. At times I have gone months without even considering it, at other times I've gotten very close to attempting to execute something. But, in a strange way, I feel like this is very normal. I've heard of so many others who have dealt with heavy, unbearable, respite-less depression as I have, and the concept of suicide becomes like a comfort zone for them, so I know that I am far from alone.

Yet, despite this, it doesn't mitigate my pain when I'm at my lowest ebb. The past couple of days have been a great example. It feels like nothing can cheer me up, and in fact every attempt or effort, not to mention the occurences that transpire all around me, seem only to exacerbate things.