Sometimes I just don't know what to do

Discussion in 'Rants, Musings and Ideas' started by mjt20mik, Feb 11, 2013.

1. mjt20mik

mjt20mik Member

I've faced depression in short periods of time throughout my life (as I was bullied as a child). However, as of the past year and a half I've gone through serious periods of depression with strong suicidal thoughts. I guess it all started when my parents told me that they had an affair when I was a kid. Personally, I held my parents on a pedestal and hearing that and the story kind of made me fall into a depression / rebellious state (about a year ago). This ended up with me basically destroying the majority of my relationships I had with friends and my girlfriend of 3 years. As one thing let to another, I started to second guess myself, and as I was losing my closest friends I ended up losing confidence and not caring about myself. I am a university student, and my grades have basically plummeted since this event, and it really has cost me job opportunities and careers in areas I was very interested in pursuing.

I did see a Therapist (against my parents will), and it did help for some time. However, there have just been times that I have sat for hours on end and just cried not knowing what to do and who to speak to. This in turn has also destroyed the relationship I have with my parents, having daily conversations turning into fights. I get reminders on the daily as to how much of a mess up I am, and how I will never learn to be better (relating to my academics and job position).
  2. total eclipse

total eclipse SF Friend Staff Alumni

You cry hun and cry and cry ok until your pain is gone You go back and get more therapy to help you hun move forward now ok Your parents they made mistakes we all do hun but that is theirs to deal with not YOurs hun You need to live your life now you are an adult with your own worries hun Take care of YOU ok hugs
  3. mjt20mik

mjt20mik Member