Standard treatments aren't helping--what now?

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by Silverpuddle, Dec 2, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Silverpuddle

Silverpuddle SF Author

I'm on something like my 11th medication cocktail, and I'm doing everything my psychologist and psychiatrist tell me to do. Unfortunately, I still want to die.

I don't want to feel like this, and would choose another option if I could find one. For the record, I have about 30 years' experience being depressive, and am getting good care & making the best use of it I can.

The only traditional option left that I haven't tried is ECT. I've been worried about memory loss and brain damage, but I'm starting not to care. I'll mention it next time I see my doctor . . . if nothing else, I seriously need some hope for a cure, ASAP.

If ECT doesn't work either, Lord knows what I'll do. Sitting around and waiting for the pharmaceutical companies to invent the Magic Bullet Drug isn't cutting it.

2. dazzle11215

dazzle11215 Staff Alumni

have you read about mary ellen copeland's wrap program? google it and a bunch of stuff will turn up. some of the things she recommends, in addition to the traditional stuff, are limiting your exposure to chemicals, a sun lamp, and good diet and nutrition. have you had a thorough physical including having your thyroid checked? took me a long time to find the right meds, too. even better than meds in my book was a good trauma therapist. she has made a real difference for me. good luck and don't give up now.

3. Silverpuddle

Silverpuddle SF Author

Thanks for the suggestions . . . I'll look into them. I actually just got a full-spectrum light today, and it seems to help. Usually I get more depressed as the sun goes down, but I'm okay at the moment.

I'm praying this "sticks."

4. aoeu

aoeu Well-Known Member

What's your diagnosis? Have others been explored?